Marie-Thérèse VACOSSIN

Biography

Born in Paris in 1929

She lives and works in Basel (Switzerland) and in Burgundy

She exhibits at the Oniris gallery since 2004

 

 

2019: Histoires de gris at the Oniris gallery, Rennes

2015: Clarté d'Ombre at the Oniris gallery, Rennes

2012: Chromatic palpitations, retrospective, Museum of Cambrai

2010: Geometry and Colors, museum of Sens and Linear Rhythm, Oniris Gallery, Rennes

2007 to 2016: Art Paris at the Grand-Palais, Oniris stand

2006: Horizontal Vertical Only, Pontoise Museum

2005: solo exhibition at the Oniris Gallery, Rennes

2004: FIAC Paris, Oniris stand (with Nemours and Molnar)

1978 : Creation of the Fanal workshop in Basel, Switzerland

1964 : Salon de la Jeune Sculpture

1955 : Salon des Réalités Nouvelles

1947-56: Studies at the School of Decorative Arts and the Louvre School in Paris

 

Overview

"Painting is for me, on a daily basis, a questioning [...]. I paint according to the tradition. It is a bias. No artifice comes to disturb the essential. The refusal of foreign means to painting limits me to the flat surface as support. Painting neither narrative, nor carrier of message. "
If the work of Marie-Thérèse Vacossin is initially based on logic and geometry, her colored paintings are linked above all to a lived sensory experience. At first glance, the images appear monochrome, but in fact they allow the color to vibrate.

For about twenty years, the work of Marie-Thérèse Vacossin is eclectic. At the beginning of the 1950s, one finds influences from Viera da Silva, Nicolas de Staël, Antoni Tàpies, and Vincent Van Gogh.

 

From 1956 onwards, she focused her attention on construction, until in 1973 she adopted an absolutely abstract art based on chromatic agreements and effects, juxtaposed planes and the mastery of the incidence of light. She then followed in the footsteps of Joseph Albert (1888-1976), the precursor of optical art, in the sense that their pictorial preoccupations are centered on problems of color perception (according to their environment, their extent and their value). In order to privilege only the perception of the relations of the colored planes, it evacuates any accessory element. Thus, between 1991 and 1992, for a smoother and more homogeneous rendering of the surface and the color, she abandons oil paint for acrylic.

 

Finally, since 2001, she has been creating Plexiglas structures, composed of columns on which one or more bands of color are silk-screened. These are multiplied by the reflections and interact with their environment. In her recent works, colored and black / white, canvas and Plexiglas, Marie-Thérèse Vacossin proposes an artistic research around the line, the color and the space. The superimpositions, the modulations, the plastic organization of the colors... create movements: from front to back, from top to bottom, from inside to outside: the works play in space, with space.

 

Co-founder of the Fanal Edition in Basel, Marie-Thérèse Vacossin has devoted several decades to promoting the engraved work of numerous artists of the constructed art among whom Morellet, Nemours, Molnar, Honegger or Cruz-Diez.

 

Works selection
Virtual Exhibition
click on the image above to access the virtual tour without any installation on your device
Virtual tour

Portrait Marie-Thérèse Vacossin (Musée de Cambrai, 2012)

Exhibitions
News

Contacter Oniris Rennes par téléphone+33 299 36 46 06

Les horaires Oniris Rennesdu mardi au samedi de 14h à 19h

Marie-Thérèse VACOSSIN

Est née à Paris en 1929

Elle vît et travaille à Bâle (Suisse)

Elle expose à la galerie Oniris depuis 2004

Marie-Thérèse VACOSSIN

 

Si le travail de Marie-Thérèse Vacossin est au départ fondé sur la logique et la géométrie, ses tableaux colorés sont liés avant tout à une expérience sensorielle vécue. Au premier abord, les images apparaissent monochromes, mais en fait elles permettent à la couleur de vibrer.

« Peindre est pour moi, au quotidien, une remise en question […]. Je peins selon la tradition. C’est un parti pris. Aucun artifice ne vient troubler l’essentiel. Le refus de moyen étrangers à la peinture me limite à la surface plane comme support. Peinture ni narrative, ni porteuse de message. »

Pendant une vingtaine d’année, l’œuvre de Marie-Thérèse Vacossin est éclectique. Au début des années 1950, on y retrouve aussi bien les influences de Viera da Silva, Nicolas de Staël, Antoni Tàpies, ou encore Vincent Van Gogh.

 

A partir de 1956, elle centre son attention sur la construction, jusqu’à ce qu’elle adopte en 1973 un art absolument abstrait basé sur les accords et les effets chromatiques, les plans juxtaposés et la maîtrise de l’incidence de la lumière. Elle s’inscrit alors dans la lignée de Joseph Albert (1888-1976), précurseur de l’art optique, dans le sens où leurs préoccupations picturales se centrent sur des problèmes de perception de la couleur (en fonction de leur environnement, de leur étendue et de leur valeur). Afin de privilégier uniquement la perception des rapports des plans colorés, elle évacue tout élément accessoire. C’est ainsi qu’entre 1991 et 1992, pour un rendu plus lisse et homogène de la surface et de la couleur, elle abandonne la peinture à l’huile pour l’acrylique.

 

Enfin, depuis 2001 elle réalise des structures en plexiglas, composées de colonnes sur lesquelles sont sérigraphiées une ou plusieurs bandes de couleur. Celles-ci sont démultipliées par les reflets et interagissent avec leur environnement. Dans ses œuvres récentes, colorées et noir/blanc, toiles et plexiglas, Marie-Thérèse Vacossin nous propose une recherche artistique autour de la ligne, la couleur et l’espace. Les superpositions, les modulations, l’organisation plastique des couleurs… créent des mouvements : d’avant en arrière, de haut en bas, de l’intérieur vers l’extérieur : les œuvres jouent dans l’espace, avec l’espace.

 

Co-fondatrice de l’Édition Fanal à Bâle, Marie-Thérèse Vacossin a consacré plusieurs dizaines d’années à valoriser l’œuvre gravée de nombreux artistes de l’art construit parmi lesquels Morellet, Nemours, Molnar, Honegger ou Cruz-Diez.

Lire la suite

Biographie

2015: Clarté d’Ombre à la galerie Oniris, Rennes

2012: Palpitations chromatiques, rétrospective, Musée de Cambrai

2010 : Géométrie et Couleurs, musée de Sens et Rythme linéaire, Galerie Oniris, Rennes

2007 à 2016: Art Paris au Grand-Palais, stand Oniris

2006 : Horizontales Verticale Seules, musée de Pontoise

2005 : exposition personnelle à la galerie Oniris, Rennes

2004 : FIAC Paris, stand Oniris (avec Nemours et Molnar)

1978 : Création de l’atelier Fanal à Bâle, Suisse

1964 : Salon de la Jeune Sculpture

1955 : Salon des Réalités Nouvelles

1947-56 : Études à l’École des Arts Décoratifs et à l’École du Louvre de Paris

Collections publiques et privées

FRAC Bretagne

Musée de Cambrai

Musée de Mâcon

E.on, Munich, Allemagne

Allianz, Berlin Allemagne

Europäisches Patentamt, Munich Allemagne

Bank für Internat. Zahlungsausgleich, Bâle, Suisse

Musée d’Art et d’Histoire, Neuchâtel, Suisse

Voir plus

Les oeuvres